Introduction to Electronic Travel Authorisation by Qatar

Recently at the UNWTO’s (United Nations World Tourism Organization) General Assembly which took place in Chengdu, China, Qatar’s Ministry of Interior (MoI) and Qatar Tourism Authority (QTA) announced that the holders of valid visas or Residence permits from the US, Canada, New Zealand, UK, Australia, Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) or the Schengen countries are eligible to receive single-entry Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA). It will come into effect from September 27, 2017. 

Nationals eligible for the ETA must apply online at  Documents required for the online application are: copy of passport (with minimum 6 months validity), copy of a valid visa or residence permit (with a minimum validity of 30 days), and proof of accommodation and onward travel. Applicant will receive an ETA, once the request has been approved by the Qatar’s Ministry of Interior. 

ETA permits the travellers to procure a visa-on-arrival to Qatar, which is valid for 30 days and is renewable once during the same visit. If the nationals leave Qatar and wish to return, it is mandatory to apply for fresh ETA application before travelling to Qatar.

Pradnya Sawant, Legal Assistant


As per the rules of the Bar Council of India, Advocates are not permitted to advertise or solicit work in any form or manner.
This website is designed only for the purpose of dissemination of basic information.
The content/material contained herein should not be construed as legal reference or legal advice. LawQuest shall not be liable for consequences of any action taken by relying on the content/material provided on this website. Readers are advised to seek the advice of a competent counsel licensed in the relevant country for further information.